AgateTravel WeLiveToServe
US & Canada: 1-800-315-3949
  • AU: 1-800-665-977
  • UK: 0-808-189-1339
  • Global: 86-29-8526-9897

How to Take Delhi Metro – Routes, Maps, Timings, Fare

When you travel around Delhi, Metro is one of the main transports and the most convenient way. The Government of India and the Government of Delhi have been planning the New Delhi Metro since 1984 and jointly established the Delhi Metro Company (DMRC) in 1995. Its helpline number is 155370. New Delhi's metro, which opened in 2002, has now had 12 metro lines throughout the city and surrounding satellite cities after 22 years of construction. They are No.1-9 colored lines and Airport Metro Express Line. In addition, there are two metro lines to Delhi’s satellite cities – Rapid Metro Gurgaon and Noida Greater Noida Metro. The length of operational network is 393km with 288 stations. Modern subway facilities add a lot to New Delhi's cityscape. In contrast to the ancient and dilapidated Indian railway system, the Indian metro has adopted new technologies to meet world-class standards.

Metro Lines
Line 1 (Red Line)
Shaheed Sthal (New Bus Adda) - Rithala
5:30 - 23:00
Line 2 (Yellow Line)
Millennium City Centre Gurugram - Samaypur Badli
5:45 - 23:30
Line 3 (Blue Line)
Dwarka Sector 21- Noida Electronic City
6:12 - 22:32
Line 4 (Blue Line)
Dwarka Sector 21 - Vaishali
6:00 - 22:50
Line 5 (Green Line)
Inderlok - Brig. Hoshiar Singh
6:00 - 23:00
Line 6 (Violet Line)
Kashmere Gate - Raja Nahar Singh (Ballabhgarh)
6:00 - 23:00
Line 7 (Pink Line)
Majlis Park - Shiv Vihar
6:00 - 23:00
Line 8 (Magenta Line)
Janakpuri West - Botanical Garden
5:40 - 23:00
Line 9 (Grey Line)
Dwarka - Dhansa Bus Stand
6:00 - 23:00
Airport Metro Express Line
New Delhi - Yashobhoomi Dwarka Sector 25
5:00 - 23:40
Rapid Metro - RMGL
Sector 55-56 – Phase 3
6:00 - 23:00
Aqua Line
Noida Sector 51 – Depot Greater Noida
6:00 - 22:00

See detailed Delhi Metro Timings & Metro Stations List

How to Pay Delhi Metro Ticket Fare – Buy Single Journey Tokens or Metro Cards

Delhi Metro Smart Card: You can get at least a discount of 10% on your ride if you buy a Delhi metro card, and it is available on Customer Care Centre or Smart Card vending machine. 

Single Journey Token: You can buy paper QR tickets on the Customer Care Centre or Ticket window, and E-QR tickets are available on some official apps, like DMRC Travel, DMRC Momentum 2.0, WhatsApp, Paytm, One Delhi, and Tummoc App. The fare for a one-way ticket is around Rs. 10 to Rs. 60 depending on the distance and stations. 

Tourist Card: It is available on all DMRC lines except for airport metro express line. There are two types of cards people can buy based on their needs: One-day tourist card costs Rs200 (Rs150 + Rs50 refundable deposit); Three-day tourist card costs Rs500 (Rs450 + Rs50 refundable deposit). The balance left in the Tourist Card is nonrefundable.

National Common Mobility Card (NCMC): The card is available on DMRC stations at specific NCMC counters, and banks issue RuPay-based NCMC. You can get 10% off during peak hours and 20% off during off-peak hours.

1. The Rapid Metro Gurugram only charges Rs20 for one way rides. 

2. Metro fare on Sundays and holidays are a little cheaper than Monday to Saturday.

Delhi Metro
Delhi Metro

Read more about Delhi Metro Fare & Delhi Metro Card.

Tips on Taking Delhi Metro

Hours: The Delhi Metro operates approximately from 5:00 a.m. to 23:30 p.m., with slightly different
times for each line and each station. You can check the detailed Delhi Metro Timings here, and avoid
missing the last train.

Frequency: The New Delhi metro departs approximately 2-5 minutes during peak hours and up to about 10 minutes during off-peak hours. The departure interval for the airport line is 10 minutes.

Note: The first carriage of each Delhi metro is specially reserved for women.

How to Take Delhi Metro to Visit Major Attractions

Delhi metro is a great transport way to travel around this city, not just for budget travelers. With the improvement of Delhi metro lines, there are many tourist attractions that can be accessed by subway.

Qutab Minar: You can take yellow subway line to get off at Qutub Minar Station, then walk or take a Tutu to the scenic area.

Red Fort: You can take yellow line to get off at Chandni Chowk Station, then take an electric tricycle or walk for about 20 minutes to it.

Humayun Tomb: You can take pink line to Hazrat Nizamuddin Station, then walk to it.

India Gate: Take the subway and get off at Central Secretariat station (Exit 3), then walk east of 1.7km along Rajpath to it.

Lotus Temple: Take Magenta Line or Violet Line, and get off at Kalkaji Mandir Station, then walk about 1km to get there.

Rashtrapati Bhavan: Take the subway to Central Secretariat Station and get out from Exit 4 and walk east along Rajpath Street for about 1km to it.

Gandhi Smriti: Take subway and drop off at Chandni Chowk Metro Station.

Parliament House: Take the metro to get off at Central Sectt Station.

National Museum of India: You can take yellow line and get off at Udyog Bhawan station, then walk west or take Tutu to get there.

Jama Masjid: You can take yellow line to Chawri Bazar Station and walk about 20 minutes from gate 3, or take a rickshaw to get there.

The Delhi Map

Click on the link below to view a detailed English map of the Delhi Metro.

You May Like