AgateTravel WeLiveToServe
US & Canada: 1-800-315-3949
  • AU: 1-800-665-977
  • UK: 0-808-189-1339
  • Global: 86-29-8526-9897

Egypt Visa Policy

Most tourists need a visa for Egypt except those who can enjoy visa-free entry policy under special conditions. Nationals of 46 countries including EU countries, UK, and US are able to apply for an Egypt e-visa online for a 30-day stay if travelling for sightseeing purpose. Many of the same countries are also eligible for applying an Egyptian visa on arrival, though it requires queuing at Egyptian airports. Citizens who are not covered by visa exemption, e-visa, or VOA will need to get a normal visa through an Egyptian embassy or consulate in their home country.

Do I need a visa for travelling to Egypt?

In most cases, tourists need to obtain a visa for travelling to Egypt. However, if they can avail themselves of the visa-free policies, then a visa is not required. Currently, citizens from the following 9 countries and territories do not need an Egyptian visa for a stay less than three months, including Bahrain, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Lebanon, Macao, Oman, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirate, and Malaysia (14 days).

The visa exemption regime also applies to some other countries under special conditions relating to the tourist’s age, gender, travel itinerary, etc. For example, if an Algerian tourist is aged 14 years or below, he or she is eligible for the 3-month visa-free policy of Egypt.

Besides, nationals of European Union, United Kingdom, United States, and Israel do not need a visa if travelling to Sharm el Sheikh, Dahab, Nuweiba and Taba resorts for a maximum stay of 15 days.

In addition, sons and daughters with Egyptian origin, ie., they were born to an Egyptian father, or to an Egyptian mother after 25 July 2004, or to wives of Egyptian nationals with marriage proof, can enjoy visa-free entry to Egypt. Note that nationals of Syria, Iraq, Morocco, and Qatar are excluded.

See More: Can I enjoy a visa-free entry to Egypt

Apart from the small minority of people who are eligible for the visa-free entry to Egypt, there is a large number of tourists requiring an entry visa Egypt. They may get it upon arrival or apply for an e-Visa in advance.

Egyptian Visa on Arrival (VOA)

The Egyptian visa on arrival are currently available to nationals of 46 countries including all the countries in the European Union, Australia, Canada, United Kingdom, Norway, United States, Japan and so on. Most tourists can get a single-entry 30-day visa on arrival at Egyptian airports at a cost of USD 25. A multiple-entry visa is also available at a cost of USD 60. Only cash is accepted for payment, but US dollars, euros, and British pounds are all accepted.

See More: Visa on Arrival for Egypt

E-Visa for Egypt

The e-Visa for Egypt is a pre-arranged visa that applies to nationals of 46 countries, such as Australia, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK, and US. It generally allows a maximum stay length of 30 days. The price is the same as a visa on arrival, but e-visa is more recommended to avoid uncertainty and discomfort in queuing at the airport. Though the Egyptian government has designated an official website for applying the e-visa online, there are other websites claiming to provide electronic Egyptian visa services at a certain service fee. Some of them are reported to double the official fee, so you had better apply through the official website.

See More: Essential Guide to E-Visa Egypt

Pre-arranged Visa at an Egyptian Embassy or Consulate

You can also apply for an Egyptian visa at an embassy, but it’s highly advised to get an e-visa if you can because it’s faster and smoother. Of course, if you do not travel for tourist or business purpose, or you do not belong to one of the 46 countries, you have to apply from an Egyptian embassy following the standard process.

See More: Egypt Visa Requirements

Egypt Visa Types

Based on travel purposes, the main types include:

Tourist Visa – for sightseeing purpose.
Transit Visa – for international passengers transiting in Egypt.
Entry Visa – for business, work, or study purposes.

Depending on the number of entries, there are two types of Egypt visas:

Single-entry visa: usually valid for 6 months for a stay as long as 60 days
Multiple-entry visa: usually valid for 6 months for a collective as long as 90 days (30 days for each entry)

How do I apply for a tourist visa to Egypt?

Apply for an e-tourist visa:

1. Sign up on the Egyptian e-visa portal.
2. Sign into your account and start the application.
3. Fill out the application form carefully and make the payment (click to see the online application form).
4. Receive the visa approval via email, then download and print it.
5. Show your printed copy of this e-visa to the immigration officer at the port of entry.

Arrange a visa from an Egyptian embassy or consulate:

1. Get your documents ready
2. Submit the application.
3. Wait and hope for the best result.
4. Pay the fee and collect your visa.

See More: Egypt Visa Application – 7 Steps

How much does an entry visa Egypt cost?

No matter you apply for a visa on arrival or an e-visa, the fee is the same, that is, USD 25 for a single-entry visa and USD 60 for a multiple-entry visa. If applying from an Egyptian embassy or consulate, the fee is different based on which type of visa and how many entries you want to get. Usually one can pay by cash, money order, postal order or cashier’s check, but things may differ in different embassies and consulates, so you need to check their websites first.

See More: Egypt Visa Fees