AgateTravel WeLiveToServe
US & Canada: 1-800-315-3949
  • AU: 1-800-665-977
  • UK: 0-808-189-1339
  • Global: 86-29-8526-9897

Can I Enjoy a Visa-Free Entry to Egypt?

A majority of foreign nationals will need a visa for travelling to Egypt. However, citizens from nine countries and regions, mostly in the Gulf and Middle East, enjoy a 3-month visa-free entry to Egypt. Citizens from another 11 countries, if meeting the special requirements, are also eligible for this visa exemption policy. Besides, tourist groups from some designated countries such as Azerbaijan, Belize, China, India and Russia can enjoy visa exemption. If tourists visit the South Sinai Red Sea Resorts only, they can get a free entry permission stamp.

3-month Visa-free Entry for Nationals of 9 Countries & Regions

If you come from one of the following countries and regions, you can enjoy a visa-free entry to Egypt for a maximum stay of three months:

Bahrain, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Lebanon, Macao, Oman, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Malaysia


1. Lebanese nationals can enjoy this visa-free entry only given that they arrive at Borg El Arab Airport, Hurghada Airport or Sharm el Sheikh Airport by a chartered flight.

2. Malaysian nationals can stay visa-free in Egypt for as long as two weeks. If the intended stay length is more than two weeks, a normal visa will apply.

Visa-free Entry for Some Other Countries under Special Conditions

The 3-month visa-free entry also applies to nationals of the following countries if they meet the special requirements:

1. Afghanistan – for citizens at the age of 50 years and above or 16 years and below

2. Algeria – for citizens at the age of 14 years and below

3. China – for citizens having a return / onward flight ticket, a hotel booking confirmation from a four or five star hotel in Egypt as well as an equivalent of USD 2,000

4. Libya – for female citizens or border residents of Butnan District entering Egypt on Sundays and Mondays

5. Jordan – for citizens holding a normal passport with the validity of five years which does not bear a stamp from the Jordanian Registration Office

6. Lebanon – all Egypt is visa-free for citizens at the age of 50 years and above or 16 years and below; citizens of all ages enjoy visa-free entry for Alexandria and South Sinai

7. Morocco – for citizens at the age of 14 years and below

8. Sudan – for all female citizens and male citizens at the age of 50 years and above or 16 years and below

9. South Sudan – for all female citizens and male citizens at the age of 50 years and above or 16 years and below

10. Tunisia – for citizens at the age of 14 years and below

11. Yemen – for citizens at the age of 50 years and above or 16 years and below, or for citizens travelling for medical purposes

Visa-free Entry for Tourist Groups from Certain Countries

If you are travelling as a member of a tourist group and you are from the following countries, you do not require a visa for entering Egypt:

Azerbaijan, Barbados, Belize, China, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Lebanon, Moldova (not applicable to females at the age between 15 and 35), Nicaragua, Russia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Turkey.

Note that the following conditions should be met in order to enjoy the visa exemption:

1. The tourist group should contain at least 5 members.

2. You have a return ticket.

3. You have booked accommodation arrangements in Egypt.

4. You have a guarantee letter signed by a travel agency.

See More: How to Apply for an Egypt Tourist Visa

Free Entry Permission for Tourists Travelling to Sinai Resorts

Citizens from select countries can get a free entry permission stamp upon arrival if they are travelling to the South Sinai Red Sea Resorts of Sharm El Sheikh, Dahab, Nuweiba and Taba. The permission stamp, allowing a maximum stay of 15 days, is only available at the international entry points of Sinai. You can renew it from the same entry point where you get this permission stamp for free. Though it is not an actual visa, people often refer to it as the Sinai Only Visa or Taba Border Crossing Visa. Remember that this permission stamp is only useful in Sharm El Sheikh, Dahab, Nuweiba and Taba. You can’t travel to the mainland of Egypt and other part of Sinai using it. If you have changed your travel plan after entering the Sinai resorts and intend to travel out of these areas, you can buy a visa at the Sharm el Sheikh Airport.

The Sinai free entry permission stamp is applicable to citizens of the following countries:
All EU countries, the United Kingdom, the United States, Israel (only available at the Taba Border Crossing)

Transit Without a Visa

Passengers from most countries can get a visa-free entry for a maximum time of 48 hours if transiting in Egypt with a valid onward ticket. However, Iran is an exception, of which the citizens have to get a transit visa in advance regardless of the layover time in Egypt between flights. If the transit time is between 6 and 48 hours, one can leave the airport. If it is within 6 hours, one may leave the transit area but not the airport. However, this does not apply to citizens of Afghanistan, Lebanon, Palestine, and Philippines, who are restricted to remain in the airside during the layover time. Besides, they have to leave by the same connecting flight.

Egypt Visa Free for Foreign Offspring of Egyptian Nationals

Egyptian visa exemption is also applicable to the sons and daughters who were born to an Egyptian father, or born to an Egyptian mother after July 25, 2004, or born to a wife of an Egyptian national who holds a marriage certificate. If the son or daughter is from Syria, Iraq, Morocco, and Qatar, the visa exemption will be void.

Visa Exemption for Diplomatic & Official Passport Holders

Based on bilateral visa exemption agreements, Egypt grants visa-free entry to holders of diplomatic / official / service or special passports of some countries, including Austria, Brazil, Chile, Denmark, Greece, India, Italy, Philippines, South Africa, Spain, etc.

If you are not covered by any of the above visa exemption policies of Egypt, you can seek to apply for a visa on arrival, or get an e-visa in advance to make a smooth trip.

Further Reading:

Visa on Arrival for Egypt – 5 Things You Need to Know

Essential Guide to E-Visa Egypt

How to Apply for an Egyptian Visa?